Panch Kedar Trekking Tour

Moderate Trek

The Panch Kedar trek comprises of the five shrines that are connected with the legends of Hindu religion. These five shrines include Kedarnath (3584 m), Madhmaheshwar (3289 m), Tungnath (3810 m), Rudranath (2286 m) and Kalpanath (2134 m). All of them are located in the naturally beautiful Kedar Valley.

Located at the head of the Mandakini River, the Linga is a natural rock that looks like the hump of a bull at Kedarnath. Situated at the base of Chaukhamba Peak, the Linga is worshipped in the form of a navel at Madhmaheshwar. Tungnath, the highest temple across Garhwal is located at a height of 3810 m where the arm of Lord Shiva appeared. Rudranath is a temple made of natural rock where the Mouth of Lord Shiva is worshipped. Situated in the beautiful valley of Urgam, Kalpeshwar is a cave temple wherein Shiva is worshipped in his knotted hair form.

The Panch Kedar trek will take you to Garhwal where five parts of Lord Shiva are worshipped as the Panch Kedar. Trekking to the Panch Kedar is certainly one of the great ways of quickly getting the glance of the Garhwal Himalaya. Some of the places you will visit on the Panch Kedar trek are Pipalkoti, Helang, Urgam, Kalpeshwar, Kalgot, Sagar, Mandal, Chopta, Jagasu, Gaurikund.

At Trekking in India, we offer a well-arranged sixteen days Panch Kedar Yatra Tour Package for those who believe in Hindu religion and want to closely witness the wonders of Lord Shiva.

1. Kedarnath (3584 m)
2. Madhmaheshwar (3289 m)
3. Tungnath (3810 m)
4. Rudranath (2286 m)
5. Kalpanath (2134 m), sprawled over a vast area with altitudes ranging from 1500m to 3680m.

The Panch Kedar circuit is a 170km and 16-day trek, starting with a drive from Rishikesh to Gaurikund. The actual trek begins at Guarikund, one of the most picturesque spots in the entire Garhwal region wouldn't demean the Alps with a comparison, but is as good, if not better!

Situated on the Rudraprayag - Kedarnath road, Guarikund provides a breathtaking view of the Himalayan ranges surrounding it.

Day 01: Arrive Delhi

On arrival at airport met our representative and transfer to hotel for overnight stay.

Day 02: Delhi - Rishikesh (230 kms/6 � hrs)

check into the hotel. In the evening visit Temples, Laxman Jhoola and Triveni Ghat for Arti darshan. Dinner and overnight stay at hotel.

Day 03: Rishikesh - Pipalkoti (1219 mts/3998 ft) 218 kms/7-8 hrs

Morning after breakfast drive to Pipalkoti via Devprayag, Rudraprayag, Karanprayag, Nandprayag. On arrival check in at the hotel. Dinner and overnight stay at the hotel.

Day 04: Pipalkoti - Helang - Urgam (2134 mts/7000 ft) 9 kms trek/3-4 hrs

In the morning after breakfast drive 15 kms to reach Helang. From her we will start our trek up to Urgam Village. We will cross Alaknanda River via Road Bridge. The trek pass through the dense forest, murmuring water falls along with KalpGanga. Urgam Valley is famous for its apple orchard, terraced fields and potatoes. Evening free to explore the fascinating Urgam Valley. Dinner and night stay in tents.

Day 05: Urgam - Kalpeshwar - Urgam (2 kms one side)

An early morning walk up to the first Kedar (one of Panch Kedar) during your trek. For this trek you have to prepare with packed lunch. The locks (hair) of lord Shiva worshiped in this temple. From here you will have the striking views of valley with terraced fields and lush green forests. Later return trek to Urgam. Dinner and overnight stay in tent.

Day 06: Urgam - Kalgot (2215 mts/7265 ft)

After an early breakfast trek up to Kalgot Village through dense forest, lush green meadows. This is the tough day. Evening arrival at Kalgot village. Meet the locals, know their culture etc. Dinner and overnight stay in tents.

Day 07: Kalgot - Rudranath (2286 mts/7498 ft)

Morning trek up to the temple of Sri Rudranath, another form of lord Shiva. In this temple The face of the Shiva is worshiped. From here we can see a splendid view of Hathi Parvat, Nanda Devi, Nanda Ghunti, Trishuli and other group of peaks. You can also visit the Suryakund, Chandrakund, Tarakund which is located nearby the temple. Dinner and overnight stay in tents.

Day 08: Rudranath - Sagar - Mandal (18 kms trek/8 kms drive)

Morning after breakfast trek down to Sagar Village through the dense forest and meadows. Up on arrival at Sagar drive to Mandal. Mandal is also known Cherapunji of Garhwal. Dinner and overnight stay in tents.

Day 09: Mandal - Chopta (2900 mts/9512 ft) - Tungnath (19 kms/2 hrs/trek 3.5 kms

Morning after breakfast drive to Chopta. Chopta is situated at an altitude of 2900 m from the sea level. The place provides a panoramic view of the Himalayas and the surrounding areas. Up on arrival at Chopta trek to Tungnath (the third Kedar) with packed lunch. Tungnath is situated at the height of 3680 mts from the sea level the highest in India. the trek is three kms upward. Enroute you will find lush green meadows and you can see the entire range of snow clapped Himalayan range. Upon arrival at Tungnath Temple and visit the temple. After relax one can trek Chandrashila peak 1 kms ahead. Dinner and overnight stay in Tungnath.

Day 10: Tungnath - Chopta - Jagasu - Gaundhar

In the morning trek back to Chopta and from here drive to Jagasu (45 kms/2 hrs). From here trek up to Gaundhar. The confluence of Madmaheshwar Ganga and Makandya Ganga is the last place that is worth a visit before one reaches Madmaheshwar. Dinner and overnight stay in tents.

Day 11: Gaundhar - Madhmaheshwar (3289 mts/10788 ft)

Morning after an early breakfast start trek (18 kms/5-6 hrs) up to Madhya Maheshwar (the forth Lord Shiva temple of Panch Kedar). It is believed that the navel mid part of the body reappeared at this shrine after disappearing at Kedarnath. On arrival set camp here. Here you see the magnificent view of Chaukhamba, Kedarnath and the Neelkanth peaks. Dinner and overnight stay in tents.

Day 12: Madhmaheshwar - Gaundhar

In the morning trek back to Gaundhar. Dinner and overnight stay in tent.

Day 13: Gaundhar - Jagasu - Guptkashi

After an early breakfast 12 km trek to Jagasu and from drive to Guptkashi (30 kms). Dinner and overnight stay at Hotel.

Day 14: Guptkashi - Gaurikund - Kedarnath (3584 mts/11756 ft)

Morning after breakfast drive to Gaurikund and from here 14 km trek up to Sri Kedarnath, one of the twelve Jyotirlingas of Lord Shiva. The trek is passes through beautiful surroundings. On arrival check in at guest house. Evening explore the surroundings. Dinner and overnight stay in Guest house.

Day 15: Kedarnath - Gaurikund - Rudraparyag

Morning after breakfast visit Kedarnath temple, trek down to Gaurikund and drive to Rudraprayag through river Mandakini. Check into hotel. Evening visit the confluence of Alaknanda & Mandakini Rivers. Dinner and overnight stay at hotel.

Day 16: Rudraparyag - Haridwar (160 kms/4-5 hrs)

Morning after breakfast drive to Haridwar via Devprayag (Confluence of Alaknanda and Bhagirathi. From here the Holy River Ganges starts). From Haridwar catch a train for Delhi. Arrival at Delhi by night. Upon arrival at Delhi transfer to hotel for overnight stay.

Day 17: Delhi Departure

Morning after breakfast full day sightseeing tour of Old and New Delhi. Evening transfer to airport to catch a flight for onward destination.

CopyRight © 2019, Trekking in India, Travel Guide India